2016 Scholarships & Awards

South Australian Primary Health Care Practitioner Award

A joint award from the SA branches of the PHAA and Australian Health Promotion Association (AHPA), the purpose of this award is to recognise outstanding contributions to Primary Health Care practice in South Australia (as exemplified in the Ottawa Charter and Primary Health Care principles outlined in such documents form the World Health Organisation).  It is named in recognition of the achievements of the South Australian Community Health Association (SACHA), which was an independent community health lobby group.  

The Association's purpose was to promote a social view of health and to encourage the development and maintenance of publicly funded community health services in South Australia.  Although SACHA no longer exists as an entity, its contribution to community health is recognised through the naming of this award. 

The Award will be presented at the 2016 State Population Health Conference held in October.

Nominations are now open.

Application guidelines and selection criteria are available here.

Kerry Kirke Student Award

The Kerry Kirke Student Award was established to recognise outstanding scholarship by a student in public health. Nominations for the Kerry Kirke Student Award are called for in August, with the Award traditionally being presented at the annual State Population Health Conference, which will be held on Saturday 22 October 2016.

The prize includes a certificate and $100 book voucher.

Nominations are now open and will close Tuesday 4 October 2016.

Application guidelines are available here.

Konrad Jamrozik Student Scholarship 2016

- Scholarship to attend the PHAA 44th Annual Conference and 20th Chronic Disease Network Conference

'Protection, Prevention, Promotion'

Healthy Future: Chronic Conditions and Public Health

Alice Springs Convention Centre, 18 - 21 September 2016

The 2016 Konrad Jamrozik Student Scholarship is named in honour of Professor Konrad Jamrozik (1955 - 2010). Professor Konrad Jamrozik (1955 – 2010) was an outstanding epidemiologist with an exceptional record of research and publications, a committed clinician, an inspiring teacher, a selfless contributor to health organisations including the PHAA, and a driven and creative campaigner for the public good. He grew up in South Australia, and returned there to live and work in 2007.

He was a life member of the Australian Council on Smoking and Health, a Fellow of the PHAA and held many awards and prizes including the Nigel Gray Award for Excellence in International Tobacco Control. 


The scholarship covers travel and student registration to attend the PHAA 44th Annual Conference and 20th Chronic Diseases Network Conference, including the dinner (to the total value of up to $1,500).

For more information about the meeting go to:

The 2016 Konrad Jamrozik Student Scholarship was awarded to Amal Chakraborty (PhD Candidate, Centre for Population Health Research, University of South Australia).

The award was presented at the 2016 Annual General Meeting of the PHAA SA.

Basil Hetzel Leadership in Public Health Award

The purpose of this award is to recognise the valuable contribution made by PHAA leaders to public health in South Australia.

The 2016 PHAA SA Basil Hetzel Leadership in Public Health Award was awarded to Dr. Stephen Christley (SA Health) at the 2016 Annual General Meeting of the PHAA SA.

The Judging Committee were pleased to recognise the enormous contribution that Stephen has made to the health of the public through a wide range of endeavours, in particular his significant contribution to public health legislation engaging across sectors and levels of government, as well as in response to public health and community concerns.